G8 Nations Developing Nations Least-Developing Nations
Canada – Joined in 1976 Argentina, Selected LDNs
France United States Brazil, Cuba Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Burkina Faso Niger, Cambodia, Gambia, Guinea, Haiti
Germany China Senegal, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi
Great Britain South Africa Nepal, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone
Italy India, Chad, Togo, Uganda
Japan and Russia joined in1998. Turkey Solomon Island, Ivory Coast Zambia,
Russia – Formal member in 1998    
United States    
Figure 1: The Medical, Public Health and Economic Implications of Genomics in he Developing Nations