Figure 1: Skeletal muscle contains several different types of myogenic potential cells, including satellite cell, myogenic precursor cell, pericyte, mesoangioblast (MAB), muscle-derived stem cell (MDSC), side population (SP) cell, muscle interstitial cell (MIC), fibro-adipogenic progenitor (FAP), Pw1+ interstitial cell (PIC) and hematopoietic cells. In addition, other non-muscle tissue-derived stem cells, including mesenchymal stem cell (MSC), hematopoietic stem cell/hematopoietic progenitor cell (HSC/ HPC), embryonic stem cell/induced pluripotent stem cell (ESC/iPSC), AC133+, adipose-derived stem cell (ASC) and amnion fluid stem cell (AFSC), have been shown to have an ability to differentiate into myogenic cells, and thus these cells may be utilized for therapeutic stem cell transplantation.