Dementia stages

Dementia in stages refers how far a person’s dementia has been progressed. It defines a person’s disease stage helping physicians to determine the best treatment approach and aid communication between health providers and caregivers. Sometimes the stage is simply referred to as “Early stage”, “Middle stage” or “Late-stage” dementia, but often a more exact stage is assigned, based on a person’s symptoms.

Early stage: the early stage of dementia is often overlooked, because the onset is gradual.

Middle stage: as dementia progresses to the middle stage, the signs and symptoms become clearer and more restricting.

Late stage: the late stage of dementia is one of near total dependence and inactivity. Memory disturbances are serious and the physical signs and symptoms become more obvious.

A more exact stage is assigned, based on a person’s symptoms.

•           Global Deterioration Scale for Assessment of Primary Degenerative Dementia (GDS)

•           Cognitive Decline

•           Very Mild Cognitive Decline

•           Mild Cognitive Decline

•           Moderate Cognitive Decline

•           Moderately Severe Cognitive Decline

•           Severe Cognitive Decline (Middle Dementia)

•           Very Severe Cognitive Decline (Late Dementia)

•           Functional Assessment Staging (FAST)

•           Clinical Dementia Rating (CDR) – No dementia, Moderate, Mild, Severe.

    Related Conference of Dementia stages

    Dementia stages Conference Speakers