alexa Applying the four principles of ethics to continence care.
Clinical Research

Clinical Research

Journal of Clinical Research & Bioethics

Author(s): Stanley R

Abstract Share this page

Sixteen years ago the United Nations designated 1981 as the International Year of Disabled Persons. The key words for the year were equality and participation. These describe the four ethical principles of respect: autonomy, beneficence, non-maleficence and justice, and they are still applicable today. The nurse supporting continence-based needs in the client with learning disabilities needs to demonstrate equality and participation in his/her practice. Applied ethics as practised by the nurse is the application of values, rules, standards or principles that should guide decisions about what we ought to do. It gives meaning to the individual and collective experience of an illness. Nurses do not typically inform their practice by reflection upon their philosophy, and thus do not have insight into what illness or disease means for them or their clients.

This article was published in Br J Nurs and referenced in Journal of Clinical Research & Bioethics

Relevant Expert PPTs

Relevant Speaker PPTs

Recommended Conferences

Peer Reviewed Journals
Make the best use of Scientific Research and information from our 700 + peer reviewed, Open Access Journals
International Conferences 2017-18
Meet Inspiring Speakers and Experts at our 3000+ Global Annual Meetings

Contact Us

© 2008-2017 OMICS International - Open Access Publisher. Best viewed in Mozilla Firefox | Google Chrome | Above IE 7.0 version