alexa Supplemental intravenous crystalloids for the prevention of postoperative nausea and vomiting: quantitative review.
Anesthesiology

Anesthesiology

Journal of Anesthesia & Clinical Research

Author(s): C C Apfel, A Meyer, M OrhanSungur, L Jalota, R P Whelan

Abstract Share this page

Hypovolaemia after overnight fasting is believed to exacerbate postoperative nausea and vomiting (PONV). However, data on the efficacy of supplemental i.v. crystalloids for PONV prophylaxis are conflicting. We performed a literature search using CENTRAL, MEDLINE, EMBASE, CINAHL, and Web of Science. We included prospective randomized controlled trials that reported PONV event rates in patients receiving supplemental i.v. crystalloids or a conservative fluid regimen after elective surgery under general anaesthesia. Studies were evaluated with regard to random sequence generation, allocation concealment, blinding of participants, personnel, and outcome assessment, incomplete outcome data, and selective reporting. We identified 15 trials (n=787 crystalloids; n=783 conservative fluids). Compared with conservative fluids, i.v. crystalloids reduced the risk of early postoperative nausea (PON) (relative risk 0.73, 95% confidence interval 0.59-0.89; P=0.003), late PON (0.41, 0.22-0.76; P=0.004), and overall PON (0.66, 0.46-0.95; P=0.02). I.V. crystalloids did not reduce the risk of early postoperative vomiting (POV) (0.66, 0.37-1.16; P=0.16) or late POV (0.52, 0.25-1.11; P=0.09), but did reduce overall POV (0.48, 0.29-0.79; P=0.004). I.V. crystalloids did not reduce the risk of early PONV (0.74, 0.49-1.12; P=0.16), but did reduce the risk of late PONV (0.27, 0.13-0.54; P<0.001) and overall PONV (0.59, 0.42-0.84; P=0.003). I.V. crystalloids reduced the need for antiemetic rescue treatment (0.56, 0.45-0.68; P<0.001). In summary, supplemental i.v. crystalloids were associated with a lower incidence of several PONV outcomes. However, a number of PONV outcomes failed to reach statistical significance, perhaps due to the lack of power. Thus, studies sufficiently powered for the less frequent outcomes (e.g. POV) are required.

This article was published in Br J Anaesth. and referenced in Journal of Anesthesia & Clinical Research

Relevant Expert PPTs

Relevant Speaker PPTs

Recommended Conferences

Peer Reviewed Journals
 
Make the best use of Scientific Research and information from our 700 + peer reviewed, Open Access Journals
International Conferences 2017-18
 
Meet Inspiring Speakers and Experts at our 3000+ Global Annual Meetings

Contact Us

Agri, Food, Aqua and Veterinary Science Journals

Dr. Krish

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001 Extn: 9040

Clinical and Biochemistry Journals

Datta A

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001Extn: 9037

Business & Management Journals

Ronald

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001Extn: 9042

Chemical Engineering and Chemistry Journals

Gabriel Shaw

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001 Extn: 9040

Earth & Environmental Sciences

Katie Wilson

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001Extn: 9042

Engineering Journals

James Franklin

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001Extn: 9042

General Science and Health care Journals

Andrea Jason

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001Extn: 9043

Genetics and Molecular Biology Journals

Anna Melissa

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001 Extn: 9006

Immunology & Microbiology Journals

David Gorantl

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001Extn: 9014

Informatics Journals

Stephanie Skinner

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001Extn: 9039

Material Sciences Journals

Rachle Green

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001Extn: 9039

Mathematics and Physics Journals

Jim Willison

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001 Extn: 9042

Medical Journals

Nimmi Anna

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001 Extn: 9038

Neuroscience & Psychology Journals

Nathan T

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001Extn: 9041

Pharmaceutical Sciences Journals

John Behannon

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001Extn: 9007

Social & Political Science Journals

Steve Harry

[email protected]

1-702-714-7001 Extn: 9042

 
© 2008-2017 OMICS International - Open Access Publisher. Best viewed in Mozilla Firefox | Google Chrome | Above IE 7.0 version
adwords