Stages of analgesia

Our Group organises 3000+ Global Conferenceseries Events every year across USA, Europe & Asia with support from 1000 more scientific societies and Publishes 700+ Open Access Journals which contains over 50000 eminent personalities, reputed scientists as editorial board members.

Stages of analgesia

The Guedel's classification describes four stages of anesthesia. Stage 1 Is known as the "induction", is the period between the initial administration of the induction agents. During this stage, the subject progresses from analgesia without amnesia to analgesia with amnesia. Stage 2 Is known as the "excitement stage", where loss of consciousness is marked by excitement and delirious activity. In this stage, respiration and heart rate may become irregular. Stage 3 Is "surgical anesthesia". Where, the skeletal muscles relax, Eye movements slow and stop, the subject is unconscious and ready for surgery. Stage 4 Is known as "overdose", where too much medication is given relative to the amount of surgical stimulation. This stage is lethal without cardiovascular and respiratory support.

  • Share this page
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Google+
  • Pinterest
  • Blogger