alexa Dr. Balasaheb Sawant Konkan Krishi Vidyapeeth

OMICS International organises 3000+ Global Conferenceseries Events every year across USA, Europe & Asia with support from 1000 more scientific societies and Publishes 700+ Open Access Journals which contains over 50000 eminent personalities, reputed scientists as editorial board members.

Dr. Balasaheb Sawant Konkan Krishi Vidyapeeth

About University:
The Konkan region, inspite of being a generous gift of natural resources, has by and large remainded under-developed. This lad to the peculiar social problem of migration of able-bodied and talented men to nearby areas like Mumbai and Pune in search of employment, leaving behind old men, women and children to look after agriculture in traditional way following the most primitive methods of cultivation. The Konkan region is distinguished from the rest of Maharashtra State by virtue of its disitinct agroclimatic conditions, soil types, topography, its location between the Sahyadri ranges and the Arabian sea, crops and cropping pattern, land holdings, and socio-economic conditions of the farmers. As such, the problems in agriculture and allied sectors are also entirely different from the other parts of Maharashtra. Due to this uniqueness, the Government of Maharashtra established the Konkan Krishi Vidyapeeth on the 18th May 1972 to impart education, conduct research on location specific problems and disseminate the improved crop production technologies amongst the farming community. The university was renamed as Dr. Balasaheb Sawant Konkan Krishi Vidyapeeth, Dapoli on 12th February 2001.
Agriculture: The College of Agriculture in the main campus was established in 1965. • B.Sc. (Agri) - Bachelor of Science (Agriculture) • B.Sc. (Hort) - Bachelor of Science (Horticulture) • B.Sc. (Fore) - Bachelor of Science (Forestry) • B.Sc. (AMM) - Bachelor of Science (Agril Marketing & Business Management) • B. Tech. (Food Sc.) Bachelor of Technology (Food Science) • M.Sc. (Agri) Master of Science (Agriculture) • Ph.D. - Doctor of Philosophy (Agriculture)
The following are the departments of the college:
• Agronomy • Horticulture • Agricultural Botany • Plant Pathology • Agricultural Chemistry • Agricultural Engineering • Agricultural Economics • Animal Husbandry and Dairy Science • Agricultural Entomology • Bio-Technology unit • Extension Education
The College of Fisheries is 5 km from Ratnagiri city. It was established in 1981 and is the only college in the state to offer an undergraduate fisheries programme. Courses offered are: • B. F. Sc. • M. F. Sc. (Aquaculture) • M. F. Sc. (Fish Processing Technology) • M. F. Sc. (Fisheries Resource Management and Extension Education) • M. F. Sc. ([Fisheries Engineering]) • Ph. D. (Fisheries) and (Aquaculture)
The following are the departments of the college: • Fisheries Biology • Fisheries Technology • Aquaculture • Fisheries Engineering • Fisheries Hydrography • Fisheries Resources Economics • Statistics and Extension Education
Engineering: It offers only one course in B. Tech. (Agril Engg). The college of agricultural engineering and technology comprises 6 major departments: The following are the departments of the college: • Agricultural Process Engineering • Farm Structures • Electrical and Other Energy Sources • Irrigation and Drainage Engineering • Farm Power and Machinery • Soil and Water Conservation Engineering
The University caters to the location specific agricultural research needs of the region. The major research is focused on rice, horticultural crops, fish production, tools and implements development, post-harvest technology, kharland reclamation, soil and water conservation, soil management and animal production. The research work is being undertaken through state and central government sponsored research projects at main Campus and 16 research stations of the University. The university has also signed MoU for collaborative research with a number of national and international institutes in public and private sector.