alexa Institute of Economic Growth

OMICS International organises 3000+ Global Conferenceseries Events every year across USA, Europe & Asia with support from 1000 more scientific societies and Publishes 700+ Open Access Journals which contains over 50000 eminent personalities, reputed scientists as editorial board members.

Institute of Economic Growth

The Institute of Economic Growth (IEG) is an autonomous, multidisciplinary Centre for advanced research and training. Widely recognized as a Centre of excellence, it is one of India s leading academic institutions in the fields of economic and social development. Established in 1958, its faculty of about 30 social scientists (economists, demographers and sociologists) and a large body of supporting research staff focus on emerging and often cutting-edge areas of social and policy concern. Many past and current faculty members are internationally renowned and award-winning scholars. IEGs research falls into nine broad themes: Agriculture and rural development, environment and resource economics; globalization and trade; industry, labour and welfare; macro-economic policy and modeling; population and development; health policy; and social change and social structure. In addition, the Institute organizes regular training programmes for the trainee officers of the Indian Economic Service and occasional courses for officers of the Indian Statistical Service, NABARD, and university teachers. The Institutes faculty members also supervise doctoral students from India and abroad, provide regular policy inputs, and engage with government, civil society and international organisations. Over the years IEG has hosted many renowned international scholars, including Nobel Laureates Elinor Ostrom and Amartya Sen, and others such as Ronald Dore, Yujiro Hayami, Jan Breman and Nicolas Stern. Founded in 1958 by the eminent economist V.K.R.V. Rao, IEGs faculty, Board of Directors and Trustees have included a wide range of distinguished intellectuals and policy makers, including V.T. Krishnamachari, C.D. Deshmukh, P.N. Dhar, A.M. Khusro, Dharm Narain, C. Rangarajan, C.H. Hanumantha Rao, Nitin Desai, T.N. Madan, P.C. Joshi and Bimal Jalan. Several former faculty members have served as members of the Planning Commission or on the Prime Ministers Panel of Economic Advisors. Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has had a long association with the Institute, initially as Chairman of the Board (1972-1982) and since 1992 as President of the IEG Society. Mr. Tarun Das is the Chairman and Prof. Manoj Panda is the Director of the Institute. There are total 8 research units. They are: Agricultural Economics Unit, Development Planning Centre, Environment & Resource Economics Unit, Health Policy Research Unit, IES Training Section, Population Research Centre, RBI Endowment Unit, Social Change & Social Structure. Sir Ratan Tata Trust Post-Doctoral Fellowships. The Sir Ratan Tata Fellowship programme instituted in 2000 provides research scholars in India an opportunity to undertake post-doctoral research at the IEG. During the short span of its existence the programme has contributed considerably to promote quality postdoctoral research in the Social Sciences in India. Eleven fellows have taken advantage of the scheme so far. The Indian Council of Social Science Research allocates six institutional doctoral fellowships (five ordinary and one with salary protection) to the Institute every year. The IEG offers these fellowships in economics.