alexa Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University

OMICS International organises 3000+ Global Conferenceseries Events every year across USA, Europe & Asia with support from 1000 more scientific societies and Publishes 700+ Open Access Journals which contains over 50000 eminent personalities, reputed scientists as editorial board members.

Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University

About University It was established as "Telugu University" on 2 December 1985 through an Act of Legislation (Act No. 27 of 1985) by the State Legislature of the-then united Andhra Pradesh with headquarters at Hyderabad and campuses at Sri Sailam and Rajahmundry. Dr. N. T. Rama Rao was the founder and first Chancellor of this esteemed university. Later in the year 1989 the Sri Siddhendra Yogi Kala Pitham[1] at Kuchipudi merged with the University. The School of Folk and Tribal Lore was established at Warangal during the year 1994. This University was founded with the broad objectives of serving the cause of the Telugu people, both within the State and outside. For this purpose, the state government has merged the Sahitya, Sangeeta, Nataka, Nritya and Lalita Kala Academies, International Telugu Institute and Telugu Bhasha Samiti into the University. Thus, the University was established to function as a central organization for teaching and research in Language and Literature, History and Culture, Fine Arts and Performing Arts, religion and philosophy of the Telugu speaking people. It strives to inculcate a sense of identity in them as citizens of India and as responsible representatives of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. This University was renamed as "Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University" in the year 1998. The University Grants Commission has recognized the University as fit to receive financial grants since 2 May 1990. Campuses and Departments The Campuses of pottisreeramulu Telugu University are as follows 1. Lalita Kalaatoranam, Hyderabad 2. Nannaya Pranganam, Rajahmundry 3. Palkuriki Somanatha Pranganam, Srisailam 4. Potana Pranganam, Warangal 5. Shri Siddhendra Yogi Pranganam, Kuchipudi The academics of Telugu University are as follows a. School of Language Development 1. Department of Linguistics 2. Department of Lexicography b. School of Fine Arts 1. Department of Music 2. Department of Dance 3. Department of Folk Arts 4. Department of Theatre Arts 5. Department of Sculpture & Painting 6. Department of Culture & Tourism c. School of Social and other Sciences 1. Department Communication & Journalism 2. Department of Jyotisha & Vaastu d. School of Comparative Studies 1. Department of Comparative Studies 2. Department of Translations e. School of Literature 1. Department of Telugu Literary Studies f. School of History, Culture and Archaeology 1. Department of History & Culture of Telugu Speaking People 2. Department of Epigraphy & Written Records 3. Department of Archaeology g. School of Folk and Tribal Lore 1. Department of Folk Studies 2. Department of Tribal studies University Statistics University digitalize various types of video tapes like VHS, U-MATIC, BETA etc., which are of great telugu culture and telugu heritage value, for the sake of posterity. In the academic year 2016-17 Chitravani Studio intends to make documentary films on Padmasri Jagadishmittal Authentic Indian Art collector and Padmasri Prof. K. Laxmagoud, Eminent artist from Telangana under Telugu Velugulu project. Apart from the Library, International Telugu Centre, Museum, Studio, the University infrastructure also includes Nandamuri Taraka Ramarao Auditorium, Guest House and decorated Conference Hall. The following Awards are given from time to time by the University in order to honour and Recognize the great work done in the field of Telugu language, literature, culture and history. Vishishhta Puraskaram: The University annually honours one great personality from the fields of Literature, Art and Innovators in any area of knowledge. Pratibha Puraskaram: Presented to ten eminent persons in the fields of Literature, Arts, Poetry, Dance, Painting, Music, Theatre Arts, Folk Arts, Avadhanam, Panditulu(Sanskrit) Novel or Story and Social service for Research and Criticism. Sahitya Puraskaram: Presented yearly to renowned persons in all genres of literature. Keerthi Puraskaram: Presented to eminent persons in literary and other fields. University Research The University Teachers are actively engaged in Research. The University has Research Committee which periodically holds meetings regarding the latest development and guidelines as per U.G.C Rules and Development and Other Education Institution. The Faculty is encouraged to take up Minor and Major Research Project as well as Departmental Projects. The details of the Minor and Major Projects are given below. P. Ramarao-Theatre Arts-The Rise and Fall of Padyanatakam: a comprehensive multimedia study of Telugu Musical Theatre C. Mrunalini-Centre for Comparative Studies-The Song and the Meaning: Relation between Literature and Music(Telugu) S. Uma Devi-Department of Music-Contribution of Andhra Composers during 19th and 20th centuries Prof.K.Anandan -Department of Encyclopedia-“Jester in Tamil Telugu Folk Theatre” Prof.D. Muniratnam Naidu-I.T.C -“Telugu as Linguistic minority in Orissa: A Socio-Linguistic Study” Dr. K. Hanumanta Rao-Department of Theatre Arts-Women in contemporary Telugu Theatre-A Socio-cultural Documentation Dr. B.S.Rohini Iyengar-Sculpture & Painting-“Documentation and Compilation of Modern Andhra Pradesh Art” Parimalagandham-Dept.of Lexicography -Tolkappiyam Balavyakaranam a comparison G.S.Bhaskara Rao-Department of Telugu-‘Mckenzie Kaifeeyats’ with relevance to social aspects